NHL 2021 Season Kicks Off Wednesday, Jan 13th! - Blog - 103.9 MAX FM
January 7, 2021 | by: Mary Sullivan

NHL 2021 Season Kicks Off Wednesday, Jan 13th!

Here are the new divisions:

North: Ottawa SenatorsMontreal CanadiensToronto Maple LeafsWinnipeg JetsEdmonton OilersCalgary FlamesVancouver Canucks
East: Boston BruinsBuffalo SabresNew Jersey DevilsNew York IslandersNew York RangersPhiladelphia FlyersPittsburgh PenguinsWashington Capitals
Central: Carolina HurricanesChicago BlackhawksColumbus Blue JacketsDetroit Red WingsFlorida PanthersDallas StarsNashville PredatorsTampa Bay Lightning
West: Anaheim DucksArizona CoyotesColorado AvalancheMinnesota WildLos Angeles KingsVegas Golden KnightsSan Jose SharksSt. Louis Blues

All teams will play only divisional opponents in the regular season. Teams in the North division will play each other nine or 10 times, while everyone else will face their divisional opponents eight times.

Something New This Season!

For the first time, NHL teams will be able to put advertisements on the sides of players’ helmets. It will be a way for teams to recoup some revenue, and also make good to pre-existing or naming rights sponsors. According to league sources, the agreement is only for this season, and the league will sign off on the ad choices.

Season starts Wed, Jan 13, 2021